h1

DISAPPOINTED!!!!!

September 4, 2006

kevin_sorbo-hercules_008.jpgThe camping trip didn’t happen.

Before I made reservations for the campsite, I did some research. You see, the only requirement that I have of a campsite is privacy.

I read several websites that said the Peaks-Kenny campgrounds were quiet, private, peaceful.

NOT!

I suppose if you normally go to those campgrounds that have no trees and are basically a driveway with a small stretch of grass, sure, Peaks-Kenny is private, but it is not private in my book. The sites were nearly on top of each other, sometimes with no tress between them and ours was right next to the bathroom area. The path to the bathroom area was right behind our site and there were absolutely no trees between it and us, just a small ditch of mud.

I tried to give it a chance but five minutes after we were there, a kid walked right through our site without asking so he could play on the big rocks behind us. He was part of a group of 50 kids across the way. Okay, there weren’t 50, but there were 5 in one group and they were all screaming.

Down the way, someone had brought a frickin’ baby camping. A baby! Taking kids camping is one thing – if done right it can teach them that life isn’t all video games and television – but bringing a baby camping serves no purpose but to annoy those around them when they start screaming – and they always do.

China was excited by what was going on, but when China’s excited she becomes anxious and starts whining incessantly, which is what she did.

So, 10 minutes after we pulled in, we pulled out.

It was hard not to cry because we’ve been planning for this trip for two months, putting all our camping equipment in the corner of the kitchen so as to make us even more excited for the trip when it came. We haven’t even unpacked yet because it depressed us so badly, especially me.

Work has been better, in general, but lately I’ve been feeling very stressed by it. I don’t have the assertiveness to deal with the people who use the machines I’m working on and it’s making me dread going to work everyday again. I don’t like that and it’s making me very tired and sad. I don’t want to go back to scanning documents, but I don’t know if I can keep doing this, either.

The trip was supposed to help me decompress. The last time we went camping, it relaxed me a great deal. I didn’t get that this weekend – the phone ringing, the normal stuff you have to do when at home, etc. I don’t really feel like I’ve been relaxed at all this weekend. And here it is, Monday, and tomorrow I have to go back to work and I have that terrible knot in my throat again.

Hopefully it’ll get better. If not, hopefully I’ll gather the gumption to go talk to my supervisor to see what can be done about my problem areas because after all this time, I don’t think it’s going to get any better. I’m 34 years old and I’m frankly tired of people telling me to ‘get over’ my shyness and ‘just be myself.’ People, it doesn’t work and I don’t want to have to take drugs all of my life to deal with it either. There has got to be something I can do to earn a living that doesn’t require me to deal with strangers everyday. Every once in a while, I can handle, but everyday – it just wears me down.

Eh, I hate making negative posts. Too bad I’m so good at it. 😉

If you’re wondering about the picture that’s posted above, you obviously didn’t watch Hercules: The Legendary Journies. Don’t worry, it’s relevant to the post but you don’t need to know why to enjoy the picture. 🙂

2 comments

  1. Yummmmmmmmm…bathrooms nearby……sounds annoying. It’s good you left before things got worse!

    What type of machines do you work at/on? You could be like me and stand there inpatiently like i do at the photocopier and tap your foot looking like you need to do something right that second! and cough too. or is that you are actually fixing machines and people are annoying to deal with?

    Nothing wrong with being an introvert!

    Hey on the weekend and if you are at home and don’t want to deal with stuff, be like me and don’t answer the phone…….they can always leave a message or call back!


  2. That’s awful… I’m so sorry that happened to you and after two months of planning, what a disappointment! The whole idea of camping is to have some peace and quiet and be in nature. Sounds like you were on the nightmare set of a horror movie about camping 😉
    I hope you are able to find a better place to camp… maybe try somewhere in NH??? Or Vermont.
    Hope to hear from you soon!
    -Kackie



Comments are closed.

