h1

So, what’s with the changing header?

August 27, 2006

If anyone has been visiting this blog, you may have noticed that the header seems to change every once in a while. It’s always those same two pumpkins, but they seem to look a little different.

I’ve been taking pictures of the progress of my pumpkins and those two are my favorites. (Shh, don’t tell the others 😉 ). They’re turning orange the fastest and I find it a little fascinating to watch them change so quickly.

Here are a few pictures of their progress so you can get a better idea of how much they’ve changed in just the past 30 days.

August 10th:

August 10

August 23rd:

August 23

August 27th:

August 27

Nifty huh?

In other gardening news, I actually had some Gladiolus bloomed. Earlier this summer, my sister-in-law gave me a box of 75 glad bulbs for my birthday. I planted every one of them. Problem was, the wildflowers bloomed first and crowded the glads so badly that the only thing they did was grow the long, green leaves. I never saw any flower buds.

Until last week. Three on the end did bloom. What I find very interesting and quite bittersweet is that the ones that bloomed were the ones I bought last year and re-planted this year. The only glads that bloomed were the ones I bought in memory of my grandmother. Not all of them bloomed, because I bought pink ones last year as well and the only ones that bloomed this year are orange. Of course, I prefer orange over pink so there’s something else to think about. 🙂

grandmasglads.jpg

And to close out this post of pictures, something happened yesterday that would never have happened if we were living in Florida. I was sitting in my office when I thought I saw two large dogs running in our back field. I looked closer to see if I knew the dogs when I realized they were a doe and her fawn. The fawn was still small but old enough to have lost it’s spots. They stood near the camp road for a bit, then continued on into the woods. I’ve seen a deer before, but never a fawn.

deer_02.jpg

deer_01.jpg

Sorry for the fuzziness. I was taking the pictures through a screened window.

Well, that’s all for today. Hoped you enjoyed the pictures!

One comment

  1. This is why if you are ever driving and see one deer, stay slowed down for a bit because a baby could be right behind her!



Comments are closed.

