h1

Week One is Over

March 5, 2005

Well, my first week back on the job is over – and I’m not dreading week two.

Normally, at this point at a new job I’m wondering if I’ve made a mistake and how I can get out of it. I’m not feeling that way this time. No, the job’s not all that exciting (I haven’t even started training for my actual job yet) but the atmosphere there is so much better than what I’m used to.

The people who work there have all been very nice, cheerful and upbeat. The few customers that I have seen have been nice, patient and easy-going. I think I’ve landed in Bizarro World! I’m honestly more worried that I’m going to bring an unwanted cynicism with me when I really start getting settled in.

The company is the most organized place I’ve ever seen. Their systems make sense and aren’t arbitrary. They actually pay their employees for good ideas that are implemented. I’m actually getting real, honest-to-god training first before I start doing the actual job.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not all peachy keen. I’m still rather insulted by the pay rate and the vacation time, and I don’t think they pay for any sick days whatsoever, but in general, it’s a much nicer place to work than what I’m used to.

Hopefully, this isn’t a fluke and will continue past the first week.

And if you’re wondering why I haven’t mentioned who it is that I’m working for, that’s on purpose. My friends and family know, but I don’t think I should be telling the entire world.

On a related note, we had a nice dinner with the extended family last night. I had wondered if I would ever start feeling comfortable enough to start being myself around them and last night I started coming out of my shell a bit. I guess having a job helps a lot; I don’t feel so self-concious about it anymore.

Being employeed is nice on more levels than just the economic one.

In other news, I’ve found out that I’m not the only freak who liked Blair Witch 2! 🙂

