h1

Something re-learned

February 1, 2005

Today’s new knowledge acquirement: Twin Peaks is just as infectious as it ever was.

Since the husband and I don’t have cable, we’ve been watching our DVD and VHS collection. I got the Twin Peaks season one DVD set for Christmas two years ago and we had never sat down to watch the series straight through.

Last week, we decided to finally watch it. I have the second season on pre-recorded VHS tapes so after we finished the gorgeous DVDs, we’ve moved on to the crappy, fuzzy, hissy VHS tapes. (Oh please, Lions Gate, please release season 2 on DVD.)

I find that the series is just as addictive, mesmerizing and just plain fun as it ever was. I’m getting a lot more of the film noir ‘in’ jokes (thanks to my film noir-buff husband) and I’m re-evaluating my opinions on several of the performances.

When the show was originally on ABC, I didn’t like Joan Chen (Josie Packard). I thought she was terrible. This time around, I’m finding that she did a great job. James Marshall (James Hurley), while very annoying in the beginning, has grown on me. It’s too bad that he’s given the most annoying plot line a quarter of the way through season two.

One opinion that has not changed is that of Kyle MacLachlan’s performance as Agent Dale Cooper. His portrayal of his character’s joy at discovering rural life is never hokey and never feels false.

Here’s to hoping that Lions Gate does release that second season and includes the ‘previously on’ and ‘next time on’ clips, which were just as bizarre as the show itself.

In closing, I’d like to leave you with my favorite quote from the show, spoken by the ever-yelling Agent Gordon Cole, played by David Lynch:

“THE WORLD LINKAGE REMINDS ME OF SAUSAGE! NEVER CARED MUCH FOR THE LINKS, PREFERRED THE PATTIES! BUT BREAKFAST IS A REAL GOOD IDEA!”

4 comments

  1. A buddy of mine, shortly before moving out of town, gave me the Twin Peaks DVDs from his collection. “I was just going to sell them,” the fool said. For shame.

    I watched every episode when it originally aired, foaming to learn all of the whos and whys. When the series ended, we had a party. It was fun, but sad. David Lynch’s brilliant finale made up for a lackluster second half of the season.

    My wife missed out on the first go around, so I made her watch it…she was entranced. We watched the whole thing in two days. My memory had failed me, as I’d told her the mystery of Laura Palmer’s killer was solved in the first season. She was left with a nasty cliffhanger.

    BUT I have read that the rights reverted back to the original ownership, meaning that a FULL collection including the pilot, missing from the DVD, could be released as early as this year.

    Shall we begin the petition?

    b


  2. I just saw you’d earlier mentioned the second season release. Sigh.

    I need to stop reading these things from the top down.

    b


  3. Brandon, nice to see someone else who liked the show as much as I did. I do disagree with you about the second half of season 2. I think it was the middle of season 2 that lagged – the whole thing with James and that rich woman, Ben Horne’s ‘save the pine weasel’ campaign (funny, but a bit over the top).

    However, when the Windom Earle story kicked into full gear, I think the show was right back on top.

    But even when Twin Peaks was ‘bad’, it was good. There was always something there that brought me back, and it wasn’t just Kyle MacLachlan’s face. 😉

    -Brandi


  4. I think I’m getting my bits of the season mixed up…thinking back, it was the middle of the season that dragged. Hey, it’s been 15 years…the memories get muddled sometimes. 😉

    b–>



Comments are closed.

