h1

Goodbye 2004, Hello 2005

December 31, 2004

Well, it’s the last day of 2004. I can’t say it’s been a good year and I can’t say that it’s been a bad year. I have much to be thankful for and I have quite a few things I’m not so happy about.

Let’s start with the negative.

1: Bush is still the President. I don’t think he’s ever been elected legally, but that’s pretty much moot at this point.

2: Both my husband and I are currently unemployed. Sort of. Chris is now officially self-employed, but most of his current projects aren’t paying gigs.

3: The move, while wanted, was twice as difficult and twice as expensive as it should have been, leaving us less breathing room financially than we anticipated.

4: None of the family, dog included, have enough winter clothes.

5: The biggest natural disaster in my lifetime occurred in the past 60 days.

But now, let’s list the positive things that happened in 2004

1: We finally moved to Maine, which is something we’ve wanted since we met. (5 years ago)

2: Chris finally quit his job which was causing his health to deteriorate slowly but steadily.

3: We live in a house, not an apartment, with large spaces between our nearest neighbors.

4: We can now watch our movies and listen to our music as loud as we want.

5: We don’t have to listen to the neighbors play their music at setting ’11’ at all hours of the night.

6: We don’t have to hear the wanna-be-thugs drive by with their loud motors and thumping rap-playing radios.

7: We now live near family.

8: I have two job interviews next week.

9: Unless something REALLY bad happens and laws are changed, this is the last term Bush can steal.

10: I got to see snow this year and lots of it.

So, all in all, the positives out-weigh the negatives. There were actually more that I thought of, but I thought 10 was a nice round number to stop with.

I hope that everyone out there (that deserves it) has a great 2005 and that this new year is a prosperous and a happy one.

See ya next year!

