h1

The Marx Brothers

November 25, 2004

Marxism of the Day:
Three years ago I came to Florida without a nickel in my pocket. Now I’ve got a nickel in my pocket.
-Groucho Marx, The Cocoanuts (1929)

Anyone who’s been keeping up with my blog (anyone? anyone? Bueller?) has probably noticed the new ‘Marxism of the Day’ feature. Maybe you have wondered why this sudden fascination with Marx Brothers quotes, or maybe you didn’t really care. If the latter, too bad, I’m going to tell you anyway.

I’ve always known who the Marx Brothers are, of course. I’m a classic film buff and if you’re a classic film fan, you know who the Marx Brothers are. Hell, I even knew who Zeppo was! (I did not, however, know about Gummo until a few days ago).

However, I had never really seen a Marx Brothers movie all the way through until about 2 weeks ago – I had only seen excerpts from their films. A few weeks ago, my husband bought the first Marx Brothers DVD collection and we’ve watched a few movies from the set.

Those guys were freakin’ hilarious – all of them. I was always under the impression that it was Groucho who made all the funnies and the other 2 (or 3, depending on which films you watch) were there for back-up. Heck no! Chico and Harpo are just as funny as Groucho and in very unique ways. And being a musician myself, it’s hard not to be in awe of Harpo’s versatile musical ability. Makes me wonder if he could sing.

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving!

