h1

Sad Adventure

November 23, 2004

Marxism of the day:
I can’t understand why you don’t get any mail from me. Perhaps it’s because I haven’t been writing.


We had a sad little adventure last night.About a week ago, Chris was at home, not feeling well, and he heard a cat meowing outside. He looked out the window to see an orange cat just standing out there, meowing his poor little head off. Chris said he sounded scared and sad.

We didn’t see anything of the cat again until last night. When we got home, we heard the cat again. Now, he had taken to following people around. Our apartment community has been very busy as of late – people are outside all the time. This orange cat was walking up to everyone, meowing his pathetic little cry. He was pretty much ignored by everyone.

After walking the dog, we found that he was still out there, so I went back out and called him. He came right to me and let me pick him up, meowing loudly the entire time. He didn’t fight, but felt kind of tense so when I opened the door, I made sure to scruff him so that if he did freak out, he wouldn’t scratch me up.

Both China (the dog) and Audrey (the cat) came running as I walked inside. The orange kitty didn’t even flinch. He just kept meowing. China just wanted to sniff (she’s never been violent toward any other living creature, just curious) but Audrey started howling.

I moved the orange kitty to the porch and got him a cup of food. He finally shut up, being so damn hungry. He ate the food in about five minutes flat, then stretched himself out on the little bench we made for Audrey like he owned the place.

He was an unneutered male, and had a large wound at the base of his tail. He didn’t act like it hurt him (I had to lift his tail to see what sex he was – he didn’t even flinch) and he was extremely friendly.

If Audrey didn’t hate other cats so much, I think we would have kept him, wound and all. He was such a nice, layed back cat who obviously just needed someone to take care of him. I believe he was probably dumped and had no way to know how to fend for himself. He was so skinny that I was sure he hadn’t had a decent meal in over a week.

But, Audrey does hate other cats. She’s 13 years old and we didn’t think it would be fair to introduce a new pet to our home this late in her life. She still hasn’t really accepted China.

So, I called the local shelter and they told us to bring him to them. We drove out and left him in their night drop-off area – which was almost already full by 7:30 p.m. They close at 5:00 p.m. so I knew that meant they had to get a lot of drop offs every day.

(One of the cages had an Opossum in it. I can’t even imagine how he was caught. Eek.)

As we left, Chris really wanted to turn around and get him back. That was kind of impossible, though, as they place was closed to the public, and the cage we left him in locked when it was shut (so people wouldn’t come out to steal drop-offs for nefarious reasons).

I checked the shelter’s website this morning and found that they had over 100 drop offs last night. While this depressed me, I still know that we did better by him than most people would have. Even if he does have to be euthanized, it’s still a much better fate than slowly starving to death. Some cats are good at fending for themselves, but that little guy obviously just didn’t know how to do the ‘feral’ thing.

I honestly hope he finds a home and really wish we could have kept him. I think I would have named him Rupert.

Good luck, little kitty. You deserve it.
20041123.jpg

