h1

Saved, my a$$

November 22, 2004

Marxism of the Day:
Money frees you from doing things you dislike. Since I dislike doing nearly everything, money is handy. – Groucho


Had a pretty uneventful weekend – packed up some boxes, watched some movies.

Move Recomendation: ‘Saved

We watched Saved this past Saturday night and enjoyed it thouroughly (did I spell that right?). I think I would have enjoyed it more if I didn’t come from a religious background. The movie was quite realistic in depicting the attitudes, behaviour and mind-set of modern Christians. While all the characters were deeper than most characters in movies and none of them were despicable, some of the actions and ideas were. It’s hard for me to look back at those 4 years I spent deeply entrenched in that lifestyle without becoming disgusted and covetous of those wasted years.

What do I mean by that? I’ll try to be fair. My church was full of good people who were genuinely caring, loving and giving people. However, the church bureaucracy was the same as any bureaucracy – the more power the better. My church was always in the forefront of politics, making sure the county stayed dry (that means no liquor) among other things. Even then I was very much opposed to mixing religion and politics but there was a mindset that we had to save the world all at once, instead of taking it one person at a time – you know, making it a personal thing instead of a state-mandated thing.

Then there was the whole hatred of the homosexuals and their lifestyle. There was no way to even discuss the idea that maybe it wasn’t a choice, that perhaps it was just the way they are. Nope. Bible says it’s wrong, it’s wrong. End of discussion. Doesn’t matter that they ignored other ‘laws’ that the Bible spouts (it’s okay to own slaves and sell your children, it’s your duty to kill your neighbor for working on the Sabbath, etc. etc. etc.) but that one thing was still valid.

One of my favorite quotes from ‘Saved’ was after a scene that was included in the trailer. After an attempted exorcism, Hillary Faye (Mandy Moore) throws her Bible at Mary (Jena Malone) stating that she’s FILLED with Christ’s love. Mary holds up the Bible and says, “This is not a weapon, you idiot.”

She’s right, but so many people out there are using it as if it were a weapon – something to beat others down with, to subjugate them and control them.

On a brighter note, here’s another picture of the Belgrade area:
20041122_01.jpg

Only two more weeks…

