h1

Posterity…or…The Future Isn’t Soon Enough

November 16, 2004

Marxism of the Day:
Why should I care about posterity? What’s posterity ever done for me?

Searching for my Marxism of the day, I found the above quote, which reminded me of something that I read yesterday that put this whole gay marriage thing in an entirely different light for me.

First off, if you’ve read any of this blog, you have probably guessed that I am for equal freedoms for everyone, regardless of sex, color, sexual-orientation, etc. etc. etc. Bush winning the election was bad enough, but the thing that made me even sadder – and quite frankly, sick to my stomach – was the fact that so many states voted to BAN gays from marrying.

Can you believe it? People actually VOTED to take rights away from someone else. Thousands of men and women have died fighting to ensure that we have the right to vote, and what do these people use it for? To restrict others – to deny others what to most people is a basic right.

Anyway, I digress.

So, the article I was reading (I can’t even remember where now, but it’s not important) was written by a gay man who is obviously quite upset with the election results. His basic sentiment was that he was tired of hearing, ‘Just wait. It’s a matter of time. The gay community will eventually have all the rights that everyone else has.’

He said that some vague ‘future’ is not soon enough for him. He’s a citizen of the United States of America, he’s not a criminal and in all aspects he’s a functioning, productive member of society. Why the hell should he have to wait for something that most people in this country take for granted?

Here’s why:
A) Homophobic assholes feel ‘icky’ about the whole thing.
B) Zealous ‘christian’ assholes feel it’s their duty to baby-sit and scold the entire country (hell, the world) based on their own belief system, and will use their vote to do so.
C) Ignorant assholes have allowed themselves to be brain-washed to believe that if gay marriage is allowed, the whole institution of marriage will come crumbling down and become rubble.

And to that, I’ll add another Marxism: Marriage is a wonderful institution, but who wants to live in an institution?

My answer: Who cares? If the institution exists, EVERYONE should be allowed in? The more insanity the merrier, eh?

So, what about this ‘whole new light’ thing that I mentioned? I’ve often made myself feel better by thinking that someday everyone will have equal rights. I can’t let myself be soothed by that thought and, as a result, quit fighting. When you quit fighting, it takes all that much longer for the desired result to come to fruition.

So, my new motto: Freedom is For Everyone — Not just white, straight, religious males.

