h1

Television is all but ‘lost’ on me

November 12, 2004

Marxism of the Day:
“I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book.” – Groucho Marx

I know I’m far from the first to be bemoaning the current state of television, but the fact that I’m not the first to complain has never shut me up before.

My respect for the general public has been taking a nose-dive over the past few years. From who they elect into office to what they watch on TV, I believe this proves that the average IQ has to be about, oh…10?

Right now, the husband and I think there are two good, smart shows on television. One is ABC’s surprise hit, “Lost.” The other is Fox’s (yes, FOX’s) comedy, “Arrested Development.” (There are a few other shows that we like but they are often hit-and-miss in terms of quality and are nothing we feel bad about skipping.)

So, it makes me moan in disgust when, after watching a deeply engrossing, intelligently scripted episode of “Lost,” I see the previews for what’s on next – ‘The Bachelor.’ A group of shallow, slutty women trying to get hooked up with a shallow, slutty man. I mean, crap like that on Fox is par for the course, but when tne major networks start running this garbage, you know the public has become shallow and just plain mean. They want to see people who are more pathetic than themselves. People who will sink to such depths that the viewing audience feels far superior and smarter.

Maybe since I was ‘the nerd’ in school I just don’t understand the thrill of watching public humiliation. I know how excrutiatingly painful it is to be the one humiliated so I’ve never gotten off on watching others suffer, even those that deserve it.

Well…if President Bush ever gets what’s truly coming to him, I might take a little pleasure in that, but that’s one public humiliation that I doubt will ever be seen on any public television station.

So, once we move, no more cable. We can only hope reception is good enough on Wednesday nights so we can keep up with “Lost.” If not, we’ll see it when it comes out on DVD. I think our ever-growing DVD collection will keep us entertained.

