h1

It’s 1984, all over again…

November 8, 2004

This past week has been a rough one for me. I’ve been rather depressed and feeling that almost everything is pointless and/or hopeless. I’m trying to put that behind me, because nothing is hopeless but it’s been rather difficult.

Why am I so depressed, you ask? Simple: Half of the people that make up the country I love voted for a man based on ‘moral’ issues.

Moral issues. Yeah, right.

2 gay men getting married is worse than over 1000 dead US citizens fighting a war under false pretenses?

All children getting left behind (unless you can afford high-priced private schools) is better than one stem-cell being used for research?

It sickens me that anyone could put their personal dogma above the personal freedoms of a fellow US citizen. You can’t convert by force and making law based on religious views is a dangerous road to take. It can lead to terrible things and in the end, the ones left in power will be telling you how to conduct every facet of your life. And what if the ones in power do not adhere to your personal belief system? What if they want you to pray to Mary as well as Jesus, or decree that only immersion baptisms are valid?

The United States of America is a very diverse place containing many diverse cultures within it’s borders. Diversity, although it can create conflict, is a healthy, productive thing. It causes us all to think, to consider different possiblities and to open our minds to new experiences.

I have yet to understand why this is so threatening to so many people. It doesn’t devalue your own culture, your own belief system. It only shows you that there are people who can and do think differently than you. Is the ‘moral majority’ so thin-skinned, so shallow, so narrow-minded that they think learning and accepting new ideas will corrupt them and turn them to the dark side of the force?

I’m certain that many of my past ‘church’ friends think this of me – that I’ve been corrupted. I know that many have stopped corresponding with me after I asked them to stop sending me emails urging me to vote for a church-supported candidate or sign a petition making sure certain materials were banned from public view because they’re ‘offensive.’ I’m sure they even think I’ve stopped believing in God. That’s the furthest thing from the truth. I simply do not (and have never) believed that my COUNTRY should be telling me what God to believe in or what morals to adhere to or what materials are proper for me to view.

I’ve never wanted to live in a fascist country. Unfortunately, I now do.

Thank you so much, my ‘moral majority’ friends. You’ve taken us back to 1984, in more ways than one.

One comment

  1. Hello. 🙂 I was surfing through blogs from Maine and found yours. We seem to have some things in common, including a disdain for the current administration!



Comments are closed.

