h1

It’s Now or Never

November 1, 2004

In an hour, it’ll be November 2nd and in 8 hours, the last voting day will begin.

Like me, many have already voted, opting to use either an absentee ballot or the early voting system available in several states.

If you haven’t, this is it. It’s your last chance to make a difference. And yes, one vote CAN make a difference so don’t ‘not’ do it because you don’t think it’s worth your while or because you’re just plain lazy. If you’re registered, get out there and do it!

It’s been a nasty election year and I highly doubt it will be over tomorrow – or a week from tomorrow, for that matter. I sincerely hope that I’m wrong, but I fear that the worst is just starting.

I’ve been running a Michael J. Fox fan site for 5 years now (http://www.mjfdb.com) and I’ve received more mail through the site in this past month than I have in the past 5 years combined.

Unfortunately, I have only heard from the jerks, morons and assholes – and not because they disagree with Mr. Fox’s views on stem-cell research – but because they can’t behave like civil human beings. They can’t just disagree and cast their votes to reflect that. No, they have to hurl insults, make nasty comments and behave like spoiled, bratty children who can’t even entertain the fact that someone might just disagree with thier narrow world view.

In the past few years, it seems to me that the only people you hear from, on any topic, are these people. Decent, intelligent, civilized human beings are being drowned out by the radicals, the extremists and the ignorant zealots. Probably because the smart ones know that nothing will change the mind of the zealot. That’s why they’re called zealots.

It makes me sad and sometimes ashamed to be a human being.

A famous ‘musician’ (I use the term loosely) is using the slogan ‘vote or die.’ I think I’ll sign off by saying, ‘Shut up and vote.’

–Kerry in 2004, woot!

One comment

  1. Damn, I’m proud of you.

    I don’t know how well I express just how much I value you and your convictions, how much I respect and appreciation I hold for your heartfelt desire for a better, healthier America.

    Every day I’m grateful for you and your convictions. Grateful that you never let me just ignore the injustices and subtle evils around us. Grateful that I’m married to a woman of depth, intellect, heart and strength.

    I’m a very lucky man.

    I love you, hon.–>



Comments are closed.

