h1

Hail to the King, baby.

May 26, 2004

Bubba HoTep is a film that never got a wide release in theaters but was very well received by film critics and the normal movie-going folks who got to see it as it ‘toured’ around the country. Unlike my e-mail buddy, Kimberly, who not only got to see it in a theater, but got to see a showing at which Bruce Campbell made a personal appearance, I was not one of the fortunate ones who was able to see the movie in a theater. Therefore, I have been eagerly awaiting the DVD release of the movie.

The mail was a little fast and we actually got the movie on Monday, a day before it hit the store shelves and of course we watched it as soon as the dog was walked.

I have been a Bruce Campbell fan for a relatively short time – 5 years – but I consider myself a big fan. Subtle is not a word I would have used for Bruce’s acting style – until now. His performance as an aged, bitter Elvis Presley was just that along with touching, poignant and so non-camp, my husband and I often forgot it was Bruce. (That’s a compliment, in case you’re wondering.)

Why this man isn’t a big star is so beyond me.

Visit’s Bruce’s official website at www.bruce-campbell.com

